Mary Oliver: “At Blackwater Pond”

Blackwater Sunrise

 

 

 

At Blackwater Pond

At Blackwater Pond the tossed waters have settled
after a night of rain.
I dip my cupped hands. I drink
a long time. It tastes
like stone, leaves, fire. It falls cold
into my body, waking the bones. I hear them
deep inside me, whispering
oh what is that beautiful thing
that just happened?

Mary Oliver

Photo credit: Blackwater Sunrise by Mr Greenjeans

~ by matt on 19 October 2007.

One Response to “Mary Oliver: “At Blackwater Pond””

  1. Matt–

    Mary Oliver blogged today at Beacon Broadside, the blog of Beacon Press. She wrote a nice post about Edna St. Vincent Millay. I hope you’ll come over and check it out.

    Jessica Bennett
    Blog Editor, Beacon Broadside

Leave a Reply

 
