Walt Whitman: “Full of Life Now”

Full of life, now, compact, visible,
I, forty years old the eighty-third Year of The States,
To one a century hence, or any number of centuries hence,
To you, yet unborn, these, seeking you.

When you read these, I, that was visible, am become invisible;
Now it is you, compact, visible, realizing my poems, seeking me;
Fancying how happy you were, if I could be with you, and become your comrade;
Be it as if I were with you. (Be not too certain but I am now with you.)

Walt Whitman (b. 31 May 1819)

~ by matt on 1 June 2008.

4 Responses to “Walt Whitman: “Full of Life Now””

  1. Whitman is the best. And I loved this poem with the photography. Phantasmagoria!!! I used the photo in my blog, Blag (http://nilsonpedro.wordpress.com), with poems writen in Brazilian portuguese, and did a link to your’s. Congratulations for Golempoem!!! And excuse me for my limited English. Bye.

  2. […] procura de uma imagem para ilustrar o poema, topei com essa aí de um blog legal em inglês, Golempoem. Depois de postar a foto e os meus – modestos – versos, me dei conta do texto postado embaixo, do […]

  3. Good. Now could someone explain it to me?

  4. “… for a picture to illustrate the poem, I came across that there’s a legal blog in English, Golempoem. After posting the photo and my – modest – verses, I realized the text posted below, the…”is the translation

Leave a Reply

 
