Efrat Mishori: “The Weeping Boy”

latzet2

THE WEEPING BOY

The world is a boy weeping before me.

Before I was a weeping girl,
before I was a girl,
the world was a weeping boy,
the world was.

The world is a tiny baby before me.

Before I was a tiny baby,
before I was a baby,
the world was a tiny baby,
a tiny baby before me

Efrat Mishori

Translated by M. Salomon from the online anthology Latzet (p. 68 )

~ by matt on 26 January 2009.

4 Responses to “Efrat Mishori: “The Weeping Boy””

  1. what about the opening one?

  2. Hey Mia–I really do appreciate your reminder! I will translate the “first one” but, as I’ve whined earlier, it will take me a bit longer, partly because I’m pressed for time at the moment, and mostly because it’s allusions are more dense than I earlier suspected (the very mechanisms that moved me in the Hebrew are not obviously moving in the literal English translation). BUT, I’ll whine no more. My plan is to first translate Eran’s “dinosaur” poem that Mark submitted (see comment #13 here) and then follow on with the piyyut. I beg your patience!

    By the way, any reaction to the Mishori poem, which I think translates nicely–you agree? BTW, one resonance lost in the English translation of Mishori’s is the intriguing conflation of time and space in the Hebrew word for “world” (olam) which is closely associated with the Hebrew word for “eternity.” That part is impossible to translate, but is definitely part of the magic of Mishori’s work as far as I’m concerned.

    Thanks for keeping the golem honest here.

  3. So is this eran into animals???
    first – cats, now dinosaurs?
    cool.

    BTW how come you dont send some of your translation to a magazine? and about mishori – i saw her read on youtube: strange bird.

  4. i love Efrat Mishori. Thanks so much for translating this, Matt.

    Judih

Leave a Reply

 
